AEO visibility vendors that offer SSO mostly gate it to Enterprise plans, and on-prem hosting is rarely published at all. If you are buying an AEO (answer engine optimisation) tool for a large organisation, the answer to "does it have SSO?" is only the first line of a longer procurement check. This guide gives you that check, plus what public pages said on 2026-11-03.
Key takeaways
- Ask for SSO protocol (SAML, OIDC), plan tier and price in writing. SSO is usually tied to an Enterprise tier with no public price.
- Treat on-prem as unconfirmed unless the vendor shows it in contract language. I did not find a published on-prem option in the vendor pages and comparisons I reviewed.
- Ask for the SOC 2 report itself and its type, not a badge. Type II covers controls over a period of time.
- Check what data each tool holds: tracked prompts, saved answers, your analytics connections and user lists. That sets how much a security review matters.
- If data must stay in your own infrastructure, open source self-hosted trackers exist, but you then own uptime, API keys, engine coverage and maintenance.
- Run the same written questionnaire past every shortlisted vendor so answers are comparable.
Which AEO visibility vendors offer SSO or on-prem options?
The public record is thin and uneven. Here is what I could confirm from vendors' own pages, as checked on 2026-11-03. A blank or "not stated" cell means I did not find it, not that the feature does not exist.
| Vendor | SSO | SOC 2 | On-prem or hybrid | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Profound | SAML and OIDC, with identity providers such as Okta and Google Workspace | SOC 2 Type II compliant | Not stated on the page I read | Profound, 13 March 2025, as checked on 2026-11-03 |
| Noma by Nurdd | Not stated in Noma's published facts: ask at demo | Not stated in Noma's published facts: ask at demo | Hosting model not stated in Noma's published facts: ask at demo | Noma FAQ |
Third-party context is thinner still. Rework reviewed 12 platforms in Rework, October 2026 and reports that only Ahrefs (Brand Radar) and Trakkr print an Enterprise price that includes SSO: about $1,499 a month on annual commitment for Ahrefs and from $1,000 a month billed annually for Trakkr. Those figures come from Rework, not from the vendors' own pages, so confirm them with each vendor before budgeting. Rework's summary is that "Enterprise" in this category mostly means "we won't print the price."
For side-by-side price and engine data, see Noma's comparison of AI visibility tools and its Peec AI vs Profound comparison, which covers SSO and SOC 2 against each vendor's pricing page.
What does SSO actually need to cover?
"We support SSO" can mean four different things. Pin it down with this ladder.
- Protocol. SAML 2.0, OIDC or both. Profound states support for SAML and OIDC (Profound, 13 March 2025, as checked on 2026-11-03). Ask which your identity provider needs.
- Identity provider tested. Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace or another. A named, tested integration is better than a generic claim.
- Provisioning. Does SCIM create and remove users automatically? Without it, leavers stay active until someone removes them by hand.
- Enforcement. Can you require SSO and disable password login? If not, SSO is optional and the weakest login still works.
Then ask about roles (who can edit tracked prompts, who can export), and whether an activity log of admin actions is available to you and exportable. Get these answers from the vendor in writing rather than from third-party reviews.
Is on-prem or hybrid hosting realistic for an AI visibility tool?
In the pages I read, none of the vendors published an on-prem option. Likely reasons include that an AEO tool sends your buyers' questions to AI engines on a daily schedule, stores the answers and parses output that changes whenever an engine changes. That is easier to run as a hosted service than to ship as installable software. This is my inference, not a vendor statement.
So the useful question is not "do you do on-prem?" but "what would leave our control, and can that be reduced?" Ask these in order:
- What customer data is stored: prompts, answers, cited URLs, analytics connections, user emails?
- Where is it hosted, and can you choose a region?
- Does the tool need access to your analytics, Search Console or server logs? If so, can that be read-only and revoked?
- If you need a single-tenant or private deployment, is it a contract option, and what does it cost?
- Can you export all data on exit, and when is it deleted afterwards?
Check per vendor whether any personal customer data is stored at all. If the tool holds only your brand's prompts and public AI answers, the real risk may sit in the connections, such as Search Console or server log access, and in user accounts. Focus your review where the data actually is.
What security questions should I ask an AI visibility vendor?
Use this questionnaire. Send it in writing and keep the answers for the vendor file.
Identity and access
- Which SSO protocols and identity providers are supported, and on which plan?
- Is SCIM available? Can SSO be enforced for all users?
- What roles exist? Can they be limited per project?
- Is there an admin audit log, and can we export it?
Assurance and compliance
- Do you hold a SOC 2 report? Type I or Type II? What period does it cover? Can we have the report under NDA?
- Who tests your platform independently, and how often?
- Do you have a documented incident-notification commitment in the contract?
Profound's page, for example, says it is SOC 2 Type II compliant (Profound, 13 March 2025, as checked on 2026-11-03). That is the shape of claim to expect: a type and a statement. Then ask for the route to the document itself. A vendor that answers with only a logo has not answered.
Data handling
- What data do you store, where, and for how long?
- Do you use our prompts or answers to train any model?
- Which sub-processors (cloud host, AI engine APIs, email, analytics) touch our data?
- How do you delete data when the contract ends?
AI-specific risk
Because these tools call large language models, ask how the vendor handles the risks catalogued in the OWASP Top 10 for LLM Applications, 2025, such as prompt injection and supply-chain exposure. For an answer-tracking tool, the relevant case is untrusted text in engine answers or cited pages being rendered or acted on by the product. Ask whether answers are treated as untrusted content and whether the product takes any automated action from them.
Integrations
- Which scopes does each connection request, such as Search Console or analytics?
- Are API keys scoped and revocable? Can we rotate them?
- Can access be limited to specific projects?
How do you score vendors once the answers come back?
Give each vendor a pass, partial or fail on each gate. Weight them by what your security team will block on, not by feature count.
| Gate | Pass looks like | Partial looks like | Fail looks like |
|---|---|---|---|
| SSO | SAML or OIDC, enforceable, price in the quote | SSO only on a custom tier, price unknown | Password login only |
| SOC 2 | Type II report shared under NDA | Type I only, or in progress with a date | Badge with no report |
| Hosting | Named region, sub-processor list | Region unknown until contract | No answer |
| Data exit | Full export and written deletion terms | Export of some data only | No export |
| Provisioning | SCIM or documented offboarding | Manual removal by support | None |
A vendor with no public price for SSO is not disqualified. It means you should get the price in the same quote as the base plan, before a security review spends your team's time. Rework's finding that most vendors hide Enterprise pricing (Rework, October 2026) is the reason to ask early.
What are the open source and self-hosted options?
If data must stay on your own infrastructure, several open source projects track AI visibility. Here is what their repositories say, as checked on 2026-11-03.
| Project | What its page says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Elmo | Open source, self-hosted platform for AI visibility tracking and optimisation | GitHub, Elmo |
| Ansvisor | Open source AI visibility platform; run it on your own infrastructure with every feature unlocked, or use its managed cloud | GitHub, Ansvisor |
| geo-aeo-tracker | Open source, self-hosted AI visibility tracker; check its README for the engines it covers | GitHub, geo-aeo-tracker |
These solve the hosting question but create others. You will supply and pay for engine API access, run the scheduler, handle parsing changes, and maintain the code. Check each repository's licence, last commit date, open issues and engine coverage before depending on it. Also check whether SSO is part of it: a self-hosted tool still needs your identity provider in front of it, which your team may have to build.
One decision rule: choose self-hosted if a written policy forbids a third party holding your prompt set, and you have an engineer to own it. Otherwise a hosted tool with a clean security file is usually cheaper than the engineering time.
Where does Noma fit?
Noma by Nurdd is an AEO and AI visibility platform that asks 13 AI engines, including ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude, the questions your buyers ask, every day. It shows where your brand is named, where competitors are named instead, and which pages the answers draw on. It connects to Google Search Console and, on higher plans, to other tools through an API. Noma's published facts do not state SSO, SOC 2 or hosting model, so put your questionnaire to the team.
See it on your own brand: book a demo or start the 3-day free trial. A card is taken at signup so billing can start on day 3; cancel before then and nothing is charged. Plans and prices are on the pricing page, and larger teams can read about Noma Enterprise.
A one-week procurement plan
- Day 1. Agree the gates with security: SSO, SOC 2 type, hosting, data exit.
- Day 2. Shortlist three vendors and send the questionnaire above to each.
- Day 3. Read each vendor's public security, pricing and help pages. Note what is published and what is not.
- Days 4 and 5. Run a trial on the same 20 prompts in each tool. Our guide to which prompts to track helps you pick them.
- Day 6. Score with the table above. Ask for SSO pricing in a written quote.
- Day 7. Decide, and file the answers with the contract.
For the measurement side of the trial, use the AI Visibility Measurement Standard, and for crawler settings that affect what AI engines can read, the AI Crawler Policy Kit.
Common mistakes
- Treating a SOC 2 badge as a report. Ask for the document and its type.
- Pricing the base plan and discovering SSO costs extra at renewal.
- Asking about on-prem when the real risk is a broad analytics or Search Console connection.
- Comparing vendors with different questions, so answers cannot be scored.
- Skipping the exit terms until the contract is signed.
How we researched this
I reviewed a vendor's enterprise-features page, a third-party enterprise comparison, open source project pages on GitHub and the OWASP guidance for LLM applications. Facts and prices were checked on 2026-11-03. Where I could not confirm a feature, the table says so rather than guessing. Vendors change plans often, so confirm each point in writing. Noma statements come only from Noma's own published facts.
What to do next
Copy the questionnaire, send it to your shortlist this week, and score the answers with the gate table. To see how Noma answers on your own brand and run your security review against it, book a demo or start the free trial. For wider context, read Noma vs Profound vs Peec AI.
See what AI engines say about your brand
Free · no account · or start a 3-day trial
Questions people ask
Which AEO visibility vendors offer SSO or on-prem options?
Profound documents SSO via SAML and OIDC on its own page. Rework reports that Ahrefs and Trakkr publish Enterprise prices that include SSO, which you should confirm with each vendor. I found no published on-prem option in the pages I reviewed on 2026-11-03, so ask each vendor in writing.
What security questions should I ask an AI visibility vendor?
Ask about SSO protocol and enforcement, SCIM, roles and audit logs, SOC 2 type and report access, data location and retention, sub-processors, model training on your data, scoped API keys and data export on exit. Send the same questions to every vendor so you can score the answers.
Do I need on-prem for an AEO tool?
Not necessarily. First check what data the tool actually stores: prompts, saved answers, user accounts and any analytics connections. If policy forbids a third party holding your prompt set, consider a self-hosted open source tracker.
What is the difference between SOC 2 Type I and Type II?
Type I looks at whether controls are designed appropriately at a point in time. Type II looks at whether they operated over a period. Ask which one the vendor holds, what period it covers and whether you can read the report under NDA.
Are there open source AEO tools?
Yes. Projects such as Elmo, Ansvisor and geo-aeo-tracker describe themselves as open source, self-hosted AI visibility trackers. You will need to supply engine API access and maintain them, so check each project's licence, engine coverage and recent activity first.
Does Noma by Nurdd offer SSO or on-prem hosting?
Noma's published facts do not state SSO, SOC 2 or hosting model, so ask at a demo and put your security questionnaire to the team. Noma tracks 13 AI engines, including ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude.
