Noma by Nurdd (NomaHQ)Noma
Tools

AEO Tools: 12 Platforms Compared (2026)

Twelve AEO tools compared on starting price, AI engines and prompts tracked, with every vendor price read on its own site on 30 October 2026.

Sheetal Shakshi11 min read

AEO tools (answer engine optimisation tools) are software that asks AI engines such as ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity the questions your buyers ask, records whether your brand is named and which sources each answer cites, and shows what to change so you are named more often.

This page compares twelve of them on the same criteria: starting price, the AI engines each tracks, and how many prompts the entry plan includes. For a longer guide to picking one, with team-by-team advice, read the best AI visibility tools for 2026.

A note on who wrote this: this page is written by Noma by Nurdd, which makes one of the twelve tools. Every price and engine list for another company was read on that company’s own site on 30 October 2026. Noma is held to the same criteria, including what it does not do. Confirm current details with each vendor before you buy.

What AEO tools do

An AI engine answers a buyer’s question with a short written recommendation that names some brands and may cite pages. An AEO tool measures that answer at scale, and most do four things:

  1. Ask the prompts. They run a fixed set of buyer questions on several engines on a schedule, usually daily, from fresh sessions.
  2. Record the answer. Whether your brand is named, where it sits against competitors, how it is described, and which URLs were cited.
  3. Report the trend. Visibility, share of voice, sentiment and citations over time and per engine, because engines disagree with each other.
  4. Point at the fix. The sources that name competitors but not you, the pages to write or improve, and site problems that stop engines reading you.

Tools differ most in how many engines a plan includes, how usage is metered (prompts, responses or credits) and how much help they give with step four.

AEO tools comparison table

Starting prices are monthly, in US dollars, for the cheapest published plan, as each vendor’s site showed them on 30 October 2026. “Not stated” means the page we read did not say.

ToolStarting priceEngines trackedPrompts tracked at entry
Noma by Nurdd$79 (Starter)13: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude on every paid plan, the rest as add-ons50, daily
Peec AI$95 (Starter)Choose 3 of 6 on Starter to Advanced; up to 13 on Enterprise50, daily
ProfoundFree trial; Enterprise custom3 on the trial; up to 9 on Enterprise50 on the 7-day trial
Scrunch AI$250 (Core)4 on Core; 9 on Enterprise125
Promptwatch$95 (Essential)All listed models on every plan50
AthenaHQFree (Essential); $295 (Starter)5 on Essential; 11 on StarterCredit-based: 300 free, 3,600 a month on Starter
Goodie$354 (Core, monthly); $295 billed annually5 on Core; up to 14 on Enterprise110
Otterly.ai$29 (Lite)4, with AI Mode, Gemini and Claude as paid add-ons15, daily
Evertune$60 (Starter)Up to 5 on Starter; 11 on ProCredit-based: 5,000 prompt credits a month
SE RankingFrom $71.20 (AI Visibility)Names AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, ChatGPT and Copilot200
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit$99Names Google AI Mode and ChatGPTNot stated
Ahrefs Brand Radar$50 (prompt tracking)Includes ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Copilot and ClaudeNot stated

Reviews by tool

Each review states what the vendor’s own pricing page says, then who it suits. The suitability notes are our reading, not the vendor’s wording.

Noma by Nurdd

Our own tool, so weigh this accordingly. Noma monitors 13 AI engines: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude on every paid plan, and Grok, GPT-5, Claude Sonnet, DeepSeek, Qwen, Mistral Small, Mistral Medium, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overviews as add-ons. It reports visibility, position, sentiment and share of voice per engine, lists the sources each answer cites, finds topics where competitors are named and you are not, drafts content briefs and articles, and audits your site for AEO readiness. Plans start at $79 a month for 50 prompts, with a 3-day trial of 25 prompts (a card is taken) and API access from the Scale plan.

What Noma does not do: it does not track Microsoft Copilot or Meta AI, and it has no SSO and no SOC 2 report. If you need any of those, choose another tool here. See pricing.

Peec AI

Peec AI publishes Starter at $95, Pro at $245 and Advanced at $495 a month (50, 150 and 350 prompts), each tracking 3 models you choose from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users. Its plan table lists SOC 2 on every plan, the API from Pro and SSO on Enterprise. Suits teams that want a published price and many users. See Peec AI alternatives.

Profound

Profound has a free 7-day trial of 50 daily prompts on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, then a custom Enterprise plan with up to 9 answer engines, SSO/SAML, SOC 2 and an API. Suits enterprises buying on a contract. See Peec AI vs Profound.

Scrunch AI

Scrunch AI Core is $250 a month for 125 prompts on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot, with 5 site audits a month, 5 user licences and a 7-day free trial. Enterprise adds Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, AI Mode and Grok, an API and SAML or OIDC SSO. Suits teams that need Perplexity and Copilot plus site audits on one entry plan.

Promptwatch

Promptwatch starts at $95 a month (Essential, 50 prompts), then $245 and $579. Every plan tracks all its listed models, including Claude, Perplexity, Copilot and Meta AI, with MCP and API access from Essential and a 7-day trial. Suits teams that want every model on the entry plan.

AthenaHQ

AthenaHQ meters usage in credits (one credit is one AI response). Essential is free with 300 credits on 5 engines; Starter is $295 a month for 3,600 credits on 11 models, with the API as a paid add-on. Suits self-guided small and mid-sized businesses, in its own description.

Goodie

Goodie Core is $354 a month billed monthly, or $295 a month billed annually, for 5 models and 110 prompts with unlimited seats and strategist support. Enterprise tracks up to 14 models with MCP, API and SOC 2. Suits teams that want hands-on support.

Otterly.ai

Otterly.ai Lite is $29 a month for 15 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, tracked daily, with unlimited team members. AI Mode, Gemini and Claude are paid add-ons, and API and MCP start on Standard ($189). Suits small teams starting with a few prompts.

Evertune

Evertune Starter is $60 a month for 5,000 prompt credits on up to 5 models (ChatGPT Search, Gemini Search, AI Mode, AI Overview and Copilot), with an Ads Agent for ChatGPT ads. Pro is $800 a month billed annually for 11 models. Suits teams that also want to run ads in AI answers.

SE Ranking

SE Ranking sells AI visibility tracking from $71.20 a month for 200 prompts, naming AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, ChatGPT and Copilot, and its $129 Core SEO plan includes 25 daily prompts on 5 AI engines, with a 14-day free trial. Suits SEO teams already using SE Ranking.

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

Semrush sells its AI Visibility Toolkit at $99 a month inside its SEO platform. Its help page names Google AI Mode and ChatGPT for prompt tracking and says there is no free trial. Suits SEO teams already working in Semrush.

Ahrefs Brand Radar

Ahrefs Brand Radar offers prompt tracking from $50 a month and an AI Visibility Index from $199 a month, which shows any brand’s visibility without setting up prompts. Suits SEO teams already working in Ahrefs.

How to choose an AEO tool

  1. List the engines your buyers use, then check which plan of each tool includes them rather than selling them as add-ons.
  2. Convert the meter to your use. Prompts, responses and credits are not the same unit: work out your prompt count times engines times days for each plan.
  3. Check security early. SSO and SOC 2 are mostly on Enterprise plans, and some tools list neither.
  4. Decide how much help you want acting on the data: a dashboard, content drafts, site audits or a strategist.
  5. Trial two or three with the same prompts and keep the one that tells you what to change. Our guide to which prompts to track helps build the set.

To see what AI answers say about your brand before you buy anything, run a free brand audit, or find the questions buyers ask with the free AI Prompt Finder.

FAQ

What is an AEO tool?

AEO tools (answer engine optimisation tools) are software that asks AI engines such as ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity the questions your buyers ask, records whether your brand is named and which sources each answer cites, and shows what to change so you are named more often.

How much do AEO tools cost?

Published entry prices we read on 30 October 2026 run from $29 a month (Otterly.ai Lite) to $354 a month (Goodie Core, billed monthly). Noma by Nurdd starts at $79, Peec AI and Promptwatch at $95, Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit at $99 and Scrunch AI at $250. AthenaHQ has a free plan, and Profound offers a free trial before a custom Enterprise price.

Which AEO tool tracks the most AI engines?

On an entry plan, Promptwatch says every plan tracks all its listed models, and AthenaHQ Starter covers 11. Noma by Nurdd monitors 13 AI engines, with ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude on every paid plan and the rest as add-ons. Peec AI Enterprise lists up to 13 models and Goodie Enterprise up to 14.

Is an AEO tool different from an SEO tool?

Yes. An SEO tool tracks where your pages rank in a list of links. An AEO tool tracks whether AI answers name your brand, how they describe it and which pages they cite, because an AI answer is a short written recommendation rather than a ranked list.

What does Noma by Nurdd not do?

Noma does not track Microsoft Copilot or Meta AI, and it has no SSO and no SOC 2 report. Teams that need any of those should look at the other tools on this page.

← All comparisons